Simply, Thank You

I was hoping to reblog the post When bloggers go MIA by Aunty Cath, but she must not have the “reblog” setting. I will share a screen shot of her post instead:

image

I am extremely humbled and honored that I’m being recognized in other writer’s blogs. After doing this blogging thing for precisely 58 days (WordPress counts in days, I guess), I never would have thought I’d have the amount of followers and attention I have presently.

I am not entirely new to blogging. As many of my Facebook friends know, I started blogging when I moved to BFE, AKA Elko, way back in 2007. Saying it was hard for me to leave my friends, family, and favorite Cold Stone, is putting it mildly. I decided to write about the foibles of a “city girl” living in a cow town. It was met with loads of support from my loved ones, but I had not one “outside” follower. I didn’t really understand how to put myself “out there” or network at all. I wrote as a therapeutic way to handle my new life of falling into cattle guards and being held up on the main road by slow-as-molasses ranchers. It was a way to express myself, yes, but more so a way to remain sane. I miss that small, comfortable, infuriating town more than I can express (that’s a totally different story, though).

As mentioned, I had loyal followers who were close family and friends. Secretly, I wondered if they were so supportive merely because they loved me, not based on my literary merit. Sure, my mom laughed so hard she cried upon reading my posts, and my best friend said she “peed a little” while reading my writing, but was it really because I was good? I want to emphasize, that I, in no way, am discrediting the opinions and comments of loved ones, just sharing a little of my innate insecurity. One of my longtime loyal followers is a writer herself, so I suppose I didn’t need to feel too insecure.

I guess I always believed I wouldn’t be a “real writer” until I began garnering support from strangers. More importantly, from other writers. Most humbly, I have gotten an immense amount of support from the blog world. It was terrifying to put myself out there, in such a naked and real way, which was why I played like I didn’t care how many followers I got. So, in the case that I would totally fall on my face, I could brush it off like I wasn’t doing it for the attention. Now I sound like I really am doing it for the attention *back peddling*.

Let me be real, there is a delicious spark of electricity that runs up my spine, that creates a euphoric high as I start reeling in the “likes” and followers after posting. It’s addictive and probably as good as a cocaine high (notice how I said, “probably”?). I have been trying not to let myself get so wrapped up in the “likes” and the amount of followers. Yet, how does one get their writing seen without readers? Skating the fine line between blogging for the enjoyment versus the attention is treacherous, and I’m still learning how to keep my balance.

With all this said, I’m eternally grateful to my loyal, longtime followers, those who have been reading my work since Elko. I am also so excited for the connections I’m making in the blogging world. I get to read posts from people all the way from India to Australia. I am also very lucky that such a diverse group of people relate to the crazy topics I write about.

I have been told that I am not a real writer until I get a book published, and my ex couldn’t stand my humor, but you can’t win them all. I’m simply going to cherish the people who support me, and continue to write, and create. It’s all I can do. It’s all I must do.

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

22 thoughts on “Simply, Thank You”

  1. Aww thank you! Oh no … I must look into that “Reblog” thing!! Also your link didn’t work, however, you are all invited to pop over to:
    http://www.askauntycath.com/
    On a serious note … you have a wonderful sense of humor and I love that whilst you may take life seriously, you DON’T take yourself seriously, and that makes you absolutely hilarious and adorable.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    The interaction from the blogging community is a big part of why we all do what we do. It is the social aspect of social media that makes it so inviting. As for the comment “you aren’t a real writer until you publish a book,” well I guess many of us won’t ever be “real” writers then. At least not by that person’s definition. A good thing we don’t define ourselves by other people’s views right? I write every day and have yet to publish anything. 🙂 -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. This really summed up exactly how I feel about this whole ‘writer blogging’ thing. I mean I’ve been on here for exactly 7 days now (wow a whole week… feels like forever) and having just hit the 1k views milestone, aswell as nearly 150 followers, I’ve felt completely overwhelmed by the response. The insane rush I feel when people comment on my novels prologue for example, is still there :’) I’m glad you wrote this, I’ve followed and hope to see some more relatable posts 🙂 I’m a ‘writer’ too – haven’t published anything yet, but I’m on the way there. If you have a couple of minutes sometime, I’d love for you to check me out and give me that ‘cocaine high’ 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good to see you getting this positive response, especially after the discussion we had the other day with my “Care and Feeding” post. High five! And remember, if you are writing, you ARE a writer. Nobody can take that away from you, regardless of “published” status or page stats or somebody’s skewed vision of success. Just keep doing exactly what you’re doing, and you’ll be fine… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

