Rant #4,352

What is blogging? I mean, seriously? What is it? I want someone to tell me. Someone of blogging authority (is there someone out there who could claim that title?) please stand up and enlighten me. 

When I first began blogging years ago, it was not the thing to do. Not everyone and their brother did it, and thus, no one outside of my Facebook friends list knew I even existed. This was OK. I actually just wanted to write. It worked.

Now, in this land of “LOOK AT ME”, blogging seems to be just another outlet for people who want to make a poorly constructed status update about what they ate for breakfast. Your bagel sandwich was beautifully photographed, but what kind of art are you trying to make? What are you trying to say? If it’s that you eat the most important meal of the day, I hate to break it to you, but you’re not the only who does that. Also, everyone photographs their food, so…

One of my main promises to myself, before I began blogging again, was that I wouldn’t get too hung up on the “likes”. I only wanted this blog to be about my passion: writing. I didn’t want to be a “like whore”. I have completely done the opposite. 

I’ve taken a brief hiatus due to this and my subsequent lack of inspiration. 

I read and follow so many beautiful, funny, and thought-provoking blogs that get maybe 5 likes, because one has to take the time out to actually read it. I know, in this instant-gratification-world, that’s A LOT to ask. Most people want a meme and a quick, poorly syntactically put-together blurb and it’s time to wipe. 

We all like funny memes, and quick, witty blurbs, I am the most guilty of this, but I look for those quick laughs on Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest.

We also all like to feel “liked”, looked up to, and admired, but does the high you feel when you get likes on your blog post outshine real-life accomplishments or recognition?  Does it mean more? If it does, what does that mean? I feel good when people like my posts because it makes me wonder if what I’m putting out there means something to someone else. It’s like putting feelers out there for fellow life. But. But, sometimes I feel that attention-whore part of me start creeping. She starts creeping. 

Is it all for the “likes”? Do you blog because you have natural talent? Do you do it for the attention? Why?

Further…

When I log onto WordPress, I want something to read. I want some meat. Some grit. I also want to write something meaningful to me. Something I spent time on. Something I mulled over. Something I spell-checked, because it was that important. 

Among all of the MEH out there is actual talent. I am glad that I have found some of these people and their blog posts that I devour like fluffy white cupcakes. They are so good. 

This world is getting more stupid by the second and part of my proof is the current world of online writing-blogging. It has become flooded with Facebook status updates and Instagram posts. Very, very few people on WordPress actually write and take the time to edit and revise. 

As a teacher, writer, and some-what intelligent person, I’m ashamed and scared of the world we are creating. 

End rant. 

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

38 thoughts on “Rant #4,352”

  1. I just started blogging so I couldn’t tell you. It’s a therapy for me in a way like my only outlet since I have no Facebook or any of those hip social media. I’m learning so bear with me as my blogs get better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s why I started blogging as well. Don’t worry about how good your blogs are. I’m not the authority and I don’t know who is. I just know the blogs I like have substance and “real ness”. There have been too many social-media-esque blog posts and I don’t get the point of it, when that’s what Facebook is for. At the end of the day, if you enjoy blogging, that’s all that really matters πŸ‘πŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just had this discussion with Rob at the V-Pub. I have two new “followers” who never read my posts. They have been blogging for a total of three months and have a cumulative total of 1,500 followers. They get loads of comments but they never respond. I swear there are WP bloggers who sweat and agonize over their posts. I’m one of them. You might have to dig for the real bloggers, but they do exist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. I don’t get it at all! Who are these people? But, more importantly who are the people following them and WHY? It’s like they aren’t real people. You are real. I can tell there’s a person behind your posts and I can tell you take great care with what you post. I enjoy your writing very much πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, and I enjoy your writing very much as well, for the same reasons. Yes, you’re clever and witty but what I enjoy most is your relatability. Maybe these bloggers we’re speaking of will get rich by blogging, if that’s their goal. I’ll stick to writing what I want, when I want to write about it, and hopefully I’ll meet some other wonderful bloggers, such as yourself, along the way! 😍

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so glad you relate to me! That’s exactly why I’m writing (that and I love it)! I’m glad I’ve found some great bloggers, such as yourself! That’s one of my favorite parts about this whole blogging thing β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reasons I blog
    1. I’ve always wanted to write, having kids and a family stopped me for 15 years, I started blogging about family, food and random thoughts to improve my writing skills in mini-propotions, that’s all I have time to do now.
    2. It’s mine, just mine.
    3. I have this crazy idea, that my great, great , grand kids would someday read, the blog and say ” I wish we knew her, she’s sounds like a cool person to have around”.
    3. In my world society seems to have two types of woman, I belong in the home maker category, which means we don’t have our own dreams but looking after the family, when I talk about my blog there is still a lot of silence. I’m breaking that silence in my own way showing other ladies around me to go after their dreams, change, adapt but do something than wasting time in front of the idiot box.
    4. I’m preparing myself for the empty nest,after all when kids leave home what will I be left with but a empty house that I sacrificed my time and dream for.
    5. I’m a instagram like junky, I confess.
    6. I get to communicate with the world when I live in an island.
    7. I’m going after my dreams the only way I can for the moment.
    β˜ΊπŸ™‹πŸ™πŸ‘πŸ˜™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I adore reading your posts! You are amazing! Mostly because you’re trying to break through the silence kept by powerful women in your society. Also, because you’re real, interesting, and original. You are one of my faves πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰πŸ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you.😊I enjoy reading your blog too. Don’t get me wrong I’m surrounded by good people but the unspoken rules, people are used to a certain way and they do not like when there is change. Cant wait for the next rant. πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I actually am a bit of an attention whore…but that’s what Facebook is for. The hubs knows about my blog but doesn’t read it. I haven’t shared it with anyone I know in real life (although if they stumbled on it, they’d know it was me.) I just needed a safe place to shake out thoughts in my head and let them air-dry before they mildewed….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. I’m an attention-whore to the max. It’s bad, but exactly…that’s what Facebook is for! I’m beyond annoying on there, I’m sure. I always felt WordPress was different, but it’s just another Facebook. I’m just gonna keep on doing me. I’m also just gonna keep on reading your blog and my other faves because it’s all that’s real on WP 😱

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I share many of your sentiments. I don’t post as frequently as I used to, back when I felt more inspired.
    I started my blog for cathartic purposes and never expected to have regular readers but I’m thankful for them, even if I don’t have *that* many of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone in how I feel. I love when I come across someone who puts thought into their posts simply because it’s what they love to do or because it’s what they want to do. There are too many bloggers popping up that seem to be computers, no life, no personality, nothing but weird posts and pictures that don’t say anything.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey – I just read through this ‘Rant’ as you call it and being new to this, I have definitely found myself reading a LOT of blogs. What I find interesting is that they all have different purpose, be it one line photos, poetry, reviews or just stories. The ones that really capture me are the ones that inspire me, that make me think or make me look at an image twice, not just a fleeting glance. I have however to hold my hands up and say that occasionally I have found myself in overdrive trying to get people back to my blog… Not necessarily through facebook but through the reader as well. And you have bought that to my attention!
    What is a real pleasure on here is the community – I started following you for instance a while back, as your blog post at the time had a direct impact on me, it made me think… and reading that one now its done the same… I want to share, I want to help and I think I am not the best at it but good enough to justify the time… And when I get a nice comment that refers back to the content or asks a question or simply strikes a feeling – Its worth it… My passion is travel plain and simple, but actually I recently wrote about Inspiration and that all came from blogs such as yours… So don’t feel too bad about the rubbish on here, just feel great when you find a piece that means something… That’s the real beauty of blogging… I

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your response! It means a lot to me to have followers who relate to me or are inspired by what I write! You are right that I need to ignore the rubbish (I love that word, by the way. Are you from the UK?). My passion is traveling too, but I don’t get to do enough of it! I, too, love the blogs that make me think or that make me feel inspired! Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh cool where abouts? I used to live on salt lake and boulder… Am going to blog on my American Dream at some point it’s very personal… Your post inspired me to share… It’s a sad but real story and changed my life

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes I live just north of London in England. Have been back for 4 years from living in Vancouver… Loved that city. I’ve been to Nevada a few times as living in Utah helped… Only really Vegas and the drive through though… Oh you should it is a lovely country… Did you see my Lake District post for England? It’s stunning

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I did see it!! It’s why I first began following you. I have an undeniable connection to England. I am English and Scottish on my mother’s side. Lady Godiva is an ancestor, so maybe that’s why I feel such a connection. When I visited England I felt at home the whole time ❀️

        Like

      4. That is great news… Ok in dedication I will get a blog up this week from your true homeland… How’s tintaginal? It’s in Cornwall and was an incredibly inspiration for me when I got home from travelling. Think you’ll like it…

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Great rant. Totally agree. My motto is I’d take 10 comments over 100 likes any day. I’m all about the one-on-one communication. What fascinates me is how many people actually seem to want to know what others had for breakfast…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

