Glutton’s Paradise AKA Apple Hill

It’s been fall break over in my neck of the woods. Us educators call this time, “Thank Baby Jesus We Made it to October”. I swear these breaks aren’t really for the kids, they’re for the teachers, for our sanity. 

Every fall, since I can remember, we have gone to Apple Hill. Nestled between South Lake Tahoe and Sacramento, Apple Hill is a labyrinth of orchards, pumpkin patches, wineries, and family-owned farms, open to the public. 

 

How gorgeous is Apple Hill?
  
 

Apple Hill has always meant eat all the apple treats, drink all the cider, and buy all the crafts to me. You can’t bring enough money, because saying ‘no’ to your tenth caramel apple and a bunch of overpriced, homemade crap is impossible. 

Since I’ve been a destitute teacher, I only buy the best of the best; no more hand-painted pumpkins and doilies for me. What is worth my money is this sign that I had to buy for my bathroom. I mean, there was no question. 

  

I also wanted to buy every single candle from B&B Candles. Not only are they the most delicious, long-lasting candles I’ve ever purchased, the older gentlemen who sells them for his wife is the cutest. #supportgrandmaandgrandpa

 
OK, let’s get down to it, I know you’re waiting to hear. Exactly how naughty and gluttonous was I? If success is becoming a diabetic on vacation, I went for the gold. It was bad, but so damn good. 

  Not even an hour in, and I found myself a cherry apple empanada. Delicioso! 

  

 Photo op tip: Always stand behind the other people in the photo. Instant diet! Wearing black will optimize your results! 
  This was lunch. They were called “Hog Fries”. How apropos. 

 “Cyser”: hard cider, mead, and honey. I had two. They were that good (I’m also a serious lightweight, and these bad boys were like 13%. You do the math). I didn’t capture my Chinese dinner, because I was drunk. What I did do was have a snorting, laughing fit in the Peking Duck, because apparently egg rolls are hilarious when you’re on a drunken, sugar-high binge. 

 Morning in Apple Hill means freshly-fried hot apple pie donuts and hot coffee! Look at those fat, hungry fingers! 

  Warmed Dutch apple sour cream pie for second breakfast. Yes, really. 

  Of course, I had to take a selfie! Come to mama! 

  This is an apple cider float. It was at this point that I began feeling my two days of absolute gluttony. When I bent over to tie my shoes, my apple treats and regret almost came up. My last words before my coma: “And…I now have diabetes.” 

The whole ride home was spent trying not to throw up. 

I went hog wild because Monday starts a new chapter. When people take pictures of the fat girl taking a selfie of herself eating baked goods, it’s time. Back on the wagon I go. 

I’ll let you know how God-awful Monday after a break, on a diet, goes. 

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

28 thoughts on “Glutton’s Paradise AKA Apple Hill”

  1. Haha, oh man. This food looks ridiculous. In a good way. I’m on a diet, too. And normally I’m pretty religious about it, until this weekend. Back to the grind tomorrow. Sucks, doesn’t it? lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL!!! I actually don’t call it a “diet”. It’s Weight Watchers and I’ve found success with it before. If I could trust myself to just not eat the entire carton of ice cream, I would just not eat such large portions. Everything is easier said than done, so I need something to say, “This is all you get. Use it wisely”.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

