To Be a Blogger, or Not to Be, That is the Poll Topic

I am at a crossroads. I have a decision to make, and it is not an easy one. That is where all of you come in. Please help me in deciding what to do next. I have the option to start working on my masters. This will be a timely, expensive, yet rewarding experience. However, I also have the opportunity to put that on the back burner, so thatย I canย continue writing, building my blog, and my following. The blogging future is anย unknown, yet it excites me. Every fiber of my being wants success in writing, whatever that may be.

I really do not know what to do, but I do know, that I cannot do both. Blogging is practically a full-time job, so is working on a masters. If I tried to teach, blog, and work on my masters, something would slip, and it can’t be my teaching. I have to choose: blogging or masters.

I can’t decide. Help.

 

 

 

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

62 thoughts on “To Be a Blogger, or Not to Be, That is the Poll Topic”

  1. If you put off your masters for a year or two will you regret it when you look back on your life in a few years? If you put off writing for a year or two will you regret it looking back on your life in a few years? Choose the one that even if you fail you will not regret having chosen it. That is where your heart belongs. Hope this helps and doesn’t make things worse. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck to you in whatever you choose!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you are able to pursue your Masters, do it! I have been wanting to go back to school for years now, and with 3 kids I can’t seem to find a way to do it. I don’t think you will ever regret pursuing more education – and as I see it, writing will always be your Wing Man. It’s not going anywhere. Maybe you will be able to eek out a little time every now and then, set your posts to once a month if you have to. I would never give it up entirely. Good luck to you, whichever path your choose!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe that they will, as long as you remain true to your own voice. From the little I know of you I don’t think that’s a problem. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I came really close to voting for the masters, but not knowing what your masters would be in (and therefore how it would potentially benefit you in terms of your career and life goals), I couldn’t in good conscience pick the masters. I went to grad school immediately after college, and at the time — and for a few years afterwards — it felt like a less than optimal decision. Then again, my situation then might be very different than yours is now. I was getting a masters in economics and statistics at the height of the recession, so that I graduated into a horrible job market where I kept being turned down for being overqualified. It pained me to see peers who went straight into the workforce after undergrad snapping up jobs that I was being told I’d be too expensive for due to my masters. So now, whenever someone tells me they can’t decide whether to go after their masters or not, I’m extremely cautious in blindly advising the advanced degree, since it really bit me in the butt for a few years by over-qualifying me for many jobs that I would have otherwise gotten. Then again, todayI have the amazing job I do because of my masters, and I wouldn’t have it without it, so it has eventually paid off. I guess my point is that — depending of course on your field of study for the masters — it may be as much of an unknown as the writing path, at least initially upon graduation. Huge disclaimer: I know nothing about masters for education professionals, so if that’s what you’d be getting your masters in, I really can’t speak to how vital a masters is to your career goals.

    Ultimately, my personal two cents is this, regardless of anyone’s field of study, and I wish someone had told me this: Only go for your masters degree if it is either, A) absolutely necessary for a career you are pretty sure you want one day (knowing it may take a while after graduation to pay off and land you that job and pay for the degree), or B) it will truly be what makes you most satisfied in life (since some people thrive in academia and want a career in it for life).

    Just my two cents — hope it helps! And it goes without saying that, even as a relatively new follower of yours, I’d be very sad to see your blog go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the feedback and some info about your situation. A masters will advance my salary. It’s really the only way to make more as a teacher, other than putting in the years. I don’t think having a masters will make me a better teacher. I could read books, go to paid trainings, and teach myself. One other benefit to taking classes would be that my school loan would go into deferment and that means $400 more a month in my pocket.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gotcha — with the additional info, I would probably change my vote. If it’s necessary for career advancement then by all means I’d advocate for it, especially given the monthly financial benefit it would bring about. My situation was totally different then. Not only was my masters of no immediate financial benefit like you’re talking about, it certainly wasn’t a career make or break as far as salary. Best wishes with your big decision, and I still will miss your blog if it goes away!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Be daring, be bold and take a chance, my friend. You have the option of doing your masters anytime, it’ll be there. Your blog is just gaining momentum, you have something that’s reaching people, you never would have if you were doing your master’s, me for example. Who know where this blog will take you. It’s an adventure* at least for me it is. I’m turning fortyโ˜บand so glad I started a food blog, I did the unexpected and will never regret it. In short “take the road less travelled, you’ll never know where it will lead you”
    Love and regards
    J

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s a very beautiful way to put it!!! I agree wholeheartedly! The ability to work on my masters will always be there…Your blog and the food you make is incredible!! I am so glad I was able to connect with you! Thank you, friend โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜˜

      Like

      1. No problem, too often we are stuck with what people expect us to do and get stuck within four walls mentally and physically, last night I watched a , I think 12 year old boy advice adults, the reason they don’t take chances as adults is the fear of the unknown, wish I could send you the link, it was the singaporean ted X.
        If they get a chance, I will always advice my kids to do the same. Live once, one chance.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sweetheart , eat that cake, start your Masters and do your blog and writing on the wayside for now. Maybe a blog post twice a month or whatever is comfortable for you. Your committed readers will remain supportive. Good luck with the decision making.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It makes a lot of sense. I for one, I am contemplating taking on some academic work this year or next *still ruminating over it* and if I decide to, I will have to balance things as much as I can and probably blog less to accommodate that interest. I always believe that those who want another persons progress will be supportive through such times.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. First things first. Never, ever tell yourself you can’t do it all. You absolutely can! It may sound like a lot and it sure as hell won’t be easy, but it will be worth it. And in the end, that’s all that matters! If you have to work 7 days a week and run on 4 hours of sleep; you do it and you stay strong because it’s only temporary! Dont let yourself chose one over the other because that, my friend, is how you end up with regret! And life is too damn short for regret– plus $400 extra bucks a month is sort of a huge perk.. Look at it as a monthly bonus for the hard work you’ll be putting in!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Life generally has a way of making the decision for us in one way or another. Nothing is impossible. It may have to be different but things cannot always remain as they are. Different can be a good thing. Never have any regrets. You can blog whenever you choose to blog and whether this is aged 50 or 85, it makes no difference. A Masters on the other hand, might be easier done before the age of 85. You might choose to blog in a different way or possibly encourage someone else to help you with your blog. There is always a way if, in your heart, it is what you want.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It is true and this should not be seen in a negative way. The ebbs and flows of life that gently allow us to wash up on a different shore from time to time.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Does it have to be one or the other? Like others have said, couldn’t you cut back on the blogging, indulge when it strikes you whilst also pursuing higher education? I voted for Masters because self-improvement is generally the best choice…except when I decided to bedazzle my nipples (the hot glue left scars). Imagine how smug you get to be when you have your Masters. You’d be a Master! It’s hard to be smug when you have a blog. If it was between a Masters and a podcast, that may be a different vote.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I would go for the degree personally.
    Blogging is more like a hobby for me and I know that I’ll never make any money from it, whereas another degree might raise my salary a little. (Not necessarily enough to pay the student loans but…)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I vote masters. It’s a wonderful opportunity – go get it! I for one will miss your posts, but will be waiting for you when you get back to the blogosphere. You might find that you still want to do an occasional update as a brain break from your academic work. That’s what I use mine for – er, that’s to say I use writing as a break from writing … But at least it usually comes with something delicious to eat! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. P’raps give up sleeping instead! It’s overrated ๐Ÿ™‚ If you do try and take it all on, be a bit kind to yourself. Contrary to popular philosophy, you DON’T have to do it all. Talking as someone who ACCIDENTALLY did another undergraduate degree whilst working, travelling, snowboarding and changing jobs (although not all at the same time), I wish I hadn’t beaten myself up so much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ARE YOU IN MY HEAD?! I LITERALLY just had this exact.same.thought. I literally, not 5 minutes ago, just thought, “With the money I am saving, I could have someone clean my apartment once a month.” Further evidence that we are one in the same ๐Ÿ‘€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwwww, friend!!!! You are so sweet! You are hilarious and a great writer yourself! I think I’m going to make it work with masters and blogging! I’m going to post an update soon! Your support is what will never keep me away from this place ๐Ÿ˜˜โ˜บ๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

