Inverness

This is a post I wrote years ago about a beautiful spot I discovered in Inverness, Scotland. There is not a day that goes by that I do not think of that trip. I yearn to go back. I left a piece of my heart in the British Isles, that’s for sure.

Inverness

The sun was lazily peeking around the steeple of a church and through the turrets on the top of a century old building. There was no breeze and just a hint of coolness ticked my sun-drenched arms and face. The air smelled of fresh cut grass and fried fish and on top of that was a hint of something different, something foreign and strange. The ample-sized river cutting through the village was dotted with specks of sun, and there was a clear reflection of the cloud-dotted sky. The green grass aside the gentle river looked so inviting, but there was no time for rest, no stopping the adventure. There were places to see, new and exiting things to eat, and different people to meet. I snapped a picture of the perfect scene so that I would never forget that moment. I fondly look at the picture I took of that beautiful river and village in Inverness, Scotland all the time. Looking at that scene makes me feel an intense longing to relive every moment that took my breath away on that trip. That village scene, along with so many others, will forever be stamped on my heart, to never, ever forget. Ever.

“No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow” Lin Yutang

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

18 thoughts on “Inverness”

  1. I love Inverness!! It’s actually where my Scottish clan is suppose to have originated. I took a week long sprint around the Scotland the summer of 2012 and it was amazing!! I had to sleep for a week when I got back from being exhausted, but it was worth it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

