This Is Elko 

I just got home from visiting Elko after nearly five years since I fled. I left Elko after a very nasty, unexpected, but much-needed breakup.  It had taken the almost four years that I lived there to grow to love the place. For the first few months I lived in Elko, I ate my sadness through the entire McDonald’s menu (because that’s all I found acceptable to eat). Every moment my brain was free to recall that I was permanently situated in a tiny cow town in Nevada, I was depressed. I devised every possible flight plan to get myself out of my living hell while I double fisted Oreos and everything ever made by the Keebler Elves. It took months for me to finally accept that if I wanted to see a movie, I would have to sit on a rickety, bodily fluid-soaked chair in their ancient theater. Whenever I got the opportunity to make it back home, I spent long hours wandering the posh isles of Target, lamenting how Elko was too ass backward to ever understand how beautiful a Target would be up on the hill instead of the nasty Kmart. What I didn’t realize until I looked up, out of my KFC Bucket of Shame, was that Elko was more than a Target. More than a comfortable movie seat. More than what you see at first glance. Before I knew it, I had established a very comfortable, happy life in Elko, enjoying the beauty that can be found when you open your heart and clear your mind of any preconceived notions. 

I was going to list the things that I love about Elko, but instead, I will just leave you with the following pictures. A few of you asked, about my previous post, “What is Elko?” Well, this is Elko. 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  


 
 
 
 
 
 
A lot the first pics are actually of Lamoille and Lamoille Canyon, but those places still mean Elko to me.   

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

48 thoughts on “This Is Elko ”

  1. beautiful. All I can think of is as wonderful as your pics are of the clouds -is there some other meaning lying behind all the cloud pictures you have taken? like a metaphor . I could be reading too much into it. Glad you managed to go back to a place and find beauty in spite of past experiences

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes, we get so darn focused on what we don’t have – what we think we MUST have, but are missing – we totally lose out on enjoying the beautiful gifts we DO have.

    Kind of true about a lot of things, isn’t it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so well said and 100% accurate. The belief that the happiest people are those who live in the present is pretty much psychology 101. Yet, most of us live in the past and/or the future. I’ve missed you, friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

