History and Gold Mining Towns and Ghosts, Oh My!

We all know that I was my usual fatty over the week-long break I had recently. What ya’ll maybe don’t realize is that I don’t just eat all of the time (although, I do get my eat on a lot). I love to explore, travel, and experience. Without venturing too far from home, one can discover hidden gems, history, and fun times. 

I have lived in Nevada my whole life, and not once had I ever been to Genoa. Even crazier, for this history lover (lover, not buff–I’m terrible at history), I didn’t know that it was the first settlement in Nevada. It was established in 1851, and it houses the oldest saloon in Nevada. This was not surprising, as Nevadans have always loved their booze.

Since discovering Genoa, I’ve been twice. It’s a super cute place, dripping in history, and it’s only about an hour from Reno. The Pink House is a must do. The pulled pork sandwich, s’mores skillet and apple and pear crisp from my Food Baby Part 2 post came from The Pink House. 








Scurry!
A fun, little path to an antique shop

Another place I went to over break is Virginia City. I’ve been to VC approximately a billion times. It can be very touristy, but if you’re in the know, you can find some amazing things to do that doesn’t involve buying overpriced junky knickknacks. Some of these include The Steampunk Ball; World Championship Outhouse Races; saloon crawls; ghost tours and investigations; and the Camel Races. 

There’s just something about Virginia City. Maybe it’s the spirits, always on the prowl, the fact that I’ve always enjoyed my time there, or that the history is so thick you could cut it with a knife. Either way, if you’re ever in the Reno-Tahoe-Carson area, VC is a must. 

I’m hoping to join a ghost investigation soon. Be on the lookout for a post about Fatty Cake scaring the literal crap out of herself…#pooppants #boopoo

This is where I hope to do a ghost investigation! Stay tuned!


I loved this adorable, little zombie!


The Fourth Ward School
The windows made me do a double check!

From the old school, looking east, you can see for miles…


The haunted Gold Hill Hotel!


Reno Town

Because I mentioned the Steampunk Ball, I thought I’d share some of my different looks I’ve had for the event over the years.



Guilty of the Duck Lip!

The view from Cafe Del Rio. One of my favorite seats in the world.

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

8 thoughts on “History and Gold Mining Towns and Ghosts, Oh My!”

  1. What a cute place! I love Nevada and all of its mining history towns…that are chalk-full of haunted places. Hence why ‘Ghost Adventures’ travels there a lot. (yeah, I’m a weirdo that loves that show…) Looks like you had a lot of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhhh my gosh I am super jealous!!!! First off, your photos are amazing! That looks like such a cool place! Second, your steampunk outfit is phenomenal! You look amazing!! I am a big steampumk fan as well – that ball sounds so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

