Flashback Friday: Catharsis

Elko 2

I wanted to share a piece I wrote about Elko for this week’s #fbf. I wanted to include this in my BuzzFeed application, but it wasn’t enough words. Also, it’s the first piece my mom asked about when I told her I had to send in some of my writing. 

Any time the seasons change, I think of Elko. So, I’ve been thinking of it a lot lately. 

It can’t be explained by one key event or moment. It was a series of moments, feelings, awakenings. It was carried by the electrically charged breeze during a thunderstorm. It was kicked up and then settled, into the cracks and crannies of my brain, like the dirt from the road. It came to me, pungent, in through the window, smelling of wet sagebrush and desert. It was changing oak leaves in the fall. The smell of coffee and wet pavement. It was the green hills in the spring. The thick, silent snowflakes in the winter. It was stillness. Jack rabbits. The moon and the stars. It was fresh, plump grapes. Fried chicken and biscuits. It was peace. Sleep. Renewal. It was faraway, twinkling lights, signaling home. It was something, somewhere, everything, always. It was Elko.

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

68 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Catharsis”

  1. That came together rather nicely. Vivid imagery.
    Let me use the opportunity to invite you to the Bloggers brunch that I am hosting over the weekend Saturday – Sunday. I believe it will be fun to mingle with others. The invitation is titled, It’s Brunch Party Time. I will send one out again tomorrow. My regards.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay I have to say yuk to the raccoon and possum because I’m such a picky eater. Oddly enough I have never eaten or I can’t even remember when an opportunity might have presented itself to eat rabbit. It’s probably more a case of being fond of bunnies that I couldn’t bring myself to eat one.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I’m definitely with you on that, Stephanae. I do know that many cultures eat rabbit and other similar type small animals. I think bunnies are way too cute to eat. Also, raccoons are straight evil. I want nothing to do with those things 😱

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think it depends how hungry you are. We lived on the breadline when I was young so most food was welcome. The bunnies were hanging in the butcher’s shops but they were skinned so didn’t look so fluffy. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      4. My mother force fed me so I have an aversion to quite a number of foods. I think she thought she was doing the right thing but it had the reverse affect on me. I’m sure if I were hungry enough I’d eat just about anything, but gee I sure hope not. If I’d seen bunnies hanging in a butcher’s shop I quite possibly would have felt differently.

        Liked by 3 people

  2. The first thought that came to mind reading this was “quelle belle plume!”, a French saying literally translated as “such a beautiful feather”, refering to a quill, and meaning stunningly beautiful writing… It sounds of home, the kind that is never truly the same when you go back…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

