WTF Wednesdays: Travel Tag Edition

The lovely An Historian About Town nominated me for the travel tag. I was so excited to be nominated, because I love to travel and I love An Historian. Not only are her posts well-written, interesting, and positively filled with gorgeous photos of beautiful places and things, the girl behind it all is just fabulous. Go check out her blog-you’ll love it!

Now, without further ado, my responses to some fun travel-themed questions:

What is your favorite place that you have visited?

Hands down, the U.K. and Ireland. My trip was seven freaking years ago, but I still think about it everyday, and I have tried to get back to the U.K. on several different occasions.

Is it possible to look any more touristy?
My ancestor-Lady Godiva’s statue was dwarfed by a Primark. I felt equal parts let down and excited. I really wanted to buy a pair of Β£8 jean shorts.
 

I also loved NYC and have always dreamed of living it up a la every.single.chick.flick in all creation, as a Big Apple girl.

(All of my NYC pics are stored away on my external hard drive. Sad face.)

Large cities, with tons of energy and culture, are definitely my favorite places to visit, but I loved being in the middle of nowhere, amidst rolling green hills in England. I also adored driving through the otherworldly terrain of the Scottish Highlands, and even though the road to Dingle, Ireland is crap-your-pants scary, the beauty of the Dingle Peninsula is unmatched.

I feel like there should be an “I Survived the Road to Dingle” badge.
Somewhere between Inverness and Edinburgh

If you could visit anywhere tomorrow where would you go?

100% the U.K.! But, I mean, if someone wanted to take me to Japan or Italy or Brazil, I’d not argue one bit. *spastic winking*

Would you rather go on a city holiday or a beach holiday?

I’m such a city girl-the energy, the eclectic culture, the myriad languages, the food, the history… Also, I’m not a huge fan of sunburnt fat that turns into one big, ugly rash, because too much of my skin was exposed and rubbing together. Give me chilly weather, layered clothing, a coffee, and a walking trip around an historic city ANY DAY.

Buuuut, I won’t say ‘no’ to a beach holiday!

Just embrace the sand in your crotch and the sunburned everything!
Alcohol helps!

My top three travel essentials are: 

  • Obviously, my phone/camera is my number one travel must have. The best souvenirs I’ve ever gotten on a trip are the insane amount of pictures of every noteworthy (and, not so noteworthy-I have been known to photograph a random bench or ugly pigeon, because it’s a foreign bench and a foreign pigeon) sight and experience.
  • Hand sanitizer, wet wipes, and a travel-size hand soap are essential. I’ve never traveled somewhere exotic enough to encounter squatty potties or lack of running water, but you just never know what kind of facilities or amenities a restroom will have. Also, the very first hostel I ever stayed at did not provide hand soap or even paper towels. You just never know what horrors you’ll encounter. You.never.know.
  • A versatile scarf and a pair of Wayfarers. I know these sound like lame “essentials”, but when I’m feeling ugly as hell on the 6th day of crap hair, because my flat iron refuses to work with the expensive adapter I bought, a scarf makes me feel a little more put together.


Can you even tell my hair is greasy and I’m wearing zero makeup? See what I mean? 

Are you an over packer or an under packer?
Literally, I used to bring three full suitcases for a weekend trip back home when I lived in Elko. The pressure that exists when you have to decide what you want to wear before the day(s) in question is just too much. I can’t even. Also, sometimes my favorite piece of clothing looks hideous on me for various reasons. You just never know.

Before the trip I took to the U.K., I obsessively researched light packing tips and practiced packing the one bag I took. It was a real trial, and it took a huge leap of faith to know I’d survive if I wore the same jeans two days in a row.


So, I lied. I took three bags…

What is your favorite thing about going on vacations?

When I’m on vacation, I feel whole. It’s an indescribable feeling of just being. When you’re on vacation, you get to live a life that would exist if daily stressors, like bills and other lame adult responsibilities didn’t exist.

Edinburgh
Edinburgh, my love!
I also love completely immersing myself in the culture and the history of wherever I am. There’s nothing more humbling than standing in a church built before your own country even existed.

Said church-St. Margaret’s Chapel

Would you rather go on vacation with family or friends?

Yeesh.

Either choice has its share of positives and negatives. Traveling with family means that there’s a pretty good chance your mom might pay for some of the travel expenses. There’s also a fairly good chance she might forget you’re a grown adult and remind you to thank “the nice travel guide”. Or, she might feel the need to chastise you about your frivolous waste of money on name brand deodorant.

Traveling with friends has its benefits in that your friends are usually more in tune with your level of fun. That might mean an adventurous competition to see how many museums at the Smithsonian you can visit in one day.


This was the day after our Smithsonian challenge. Someone had a museum hangover #8thgradeugly. 

Or, maybe, that means buying every kind of foreign candy in the convenience store and then going back to your hotel room to see who can get diabetes first.

Diabetes!
When you travel with your friends, there’s also the potential for a complete WWIII, nuclear fallout, because after being together 24/7 you can’t stand the way they chew their food or breathe.

Whether traveling with a friend or family member, just drink. Their mouth breathing won’t matter near as much. 

Either way, memories are made and that’s all that matters. Right?

What is the most adventurous dish you have ever tried from another country?
Abso-freaking-lutely that would be haggis with ‘neeps and ‘tatties that my friend and her Scottish husband made for us while we stayed with them in Edinburgh.

It was actually amazingly delicious. No shit, I crave that dish on the regular.

My amazing Scottish friends! 

I’d like to nominate the following bloggers (please don’t feel obligated to participate):

The Wandering Flamingo
This girl is an amazing photographer, writer and blogger friend. She also lives in my favorite country, so I always feel I get to live vicariously through her photos and posts. Also, she is an avid traveler, so I’d love to know more about her envy-worthy travels. Please go check out her blog and beautiful photography-you won’t be disappointed!

A Walk and a Lark
Here’s another blogger bud who lives in one of my favorite cities-London! She’s become an amazing blogging supporter and friend, and I simply adore reading her blog! She is well-traveled, so I’d love the inside scoop on some of her favorite places! Check out Josy’s blog! I promise you’ll love it and her!

All Thoughts Work
This chick cracks me up. Every time I get a comment from her, I know I’ll end up practically peeing myself from laughter. I’ve gleaned that she’s an avid outdoors-woman and talented writer, but that’s all I know. I need to know more! Head on over to the funny lady’s blog-you won’t regret it!

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

49 thoughts on “WTF Wednesdays: Travel Tag Edition”

  1. Aww, thank you for the tag and the shower of kind words! I will certainly participate… πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed reading this, and I hope you get to see the UK again soon. I was serious when I said we have a room! Well, it’s an office but can easily be transformed into a bedroom for a week… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I always love when someone does the travel tag, it’s different from the others ! I enjoyed doing this tag myself too πŸ™‚ I find it very interesting to read how other people from other countries travel. And I have to ask : what is “haggis with β€˜neeps and β€˜tatties” ? πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I like this tag a lot too!! Gosh, how do I explain haggis?? It’s like mashed up meat with a type of barley or oat and it’s cooked in a cow (?) stomach. ‘Neeps are turnips and ‘tatties are potatoes 😜.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m regularly terrified of haggis – the whole boiled in the stomach thing just turns mine.

    I don’t like to remember that the meat I eat had internal organs at one time…yea, I’m a first worlder for sure πŸ˜€

    And, I agree…alcohol helps on those beach events. Get sloshed enough, and you don’t mind the strange sizzling sounds coming from your back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I had to NOT think of the stomach part the whole time I was eating it. It didn’t help that my friend kept asking, “Now, what exactly is this?” QUIT ASKING! We.don’t.want.to.know! Alcohol makes everything tolerable…er…fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When you next come back to London, you HAVE to try this Scottish place Mac and Wild: https://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/mac-and-wild-london?osq=Scottish+Food They do Haggis pops (and they have an amaaazing burger with haggis in) It makes the haggis experience less scary, and more yummy. πŸ˜€

        Either that, or for Β£5 you can have the best sarnie in London: https://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/deeneys-london?osq=Scottish+Food (It also involve haggis)

        I promise after those you’ll never be scared of haggis again!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think of heard of Mac and Wild!! I actually really loved the Haggis. I just had to not think of what it was cooked in!! I SO HOPE I’ll make it back over there soon!! ❀️❀️

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooooh Thank you for the tag Katie! You are the first person to blog tag me…so I am going to take that as a sign that I am getting into the *real* world of blogging! πŸ˜€

    I am really up for this, but I doubt I can be as funny as you. Watch out for a non funny version of this tag soon.

    p.s. Once we find somewhere to live, you will be really welcome to come North and visit us in Vancouver. If you visit folks from the UK you’d get UK culture and Canadian culture in one trip…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re a great writer, so I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Yes! I’d love to visit you up north! I’ve only flown through Vancouver, but I’ve heard it’s a beautiful place! You’re so sweet!! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey, thanks for the shout out, I’m kvelling. Believe it or not, the thing I’m most jealous of in all your travels is getting to hang out with Scottish accents. I eat that shit up, no kidding. Put a handsome, gregarious Scot next to me and I’m like Jamie Lee Curtis humping the rope in A Fish Called Wanda (If you haven’t seen that movie, live in fear because I will find you, I have a very special set of skills). Do you know how many hours I can spend just listening to Billy Connolly?

    That mountain behind the Road to Dingle looks like a boob.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Must’ve been a cold day. *rimshot

        Here’s some Billy. It’s not just the pronunciation, it’s the cadence and inflections, too. So much theatrical ‘tude goin’ on in a Scot’s delivery.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I LOVE that you LOVE my country so much. It is pretty awesome though. There’s still fantastic new areas of it that I’m still discovering & love and it’s only tiny. Hope you make it over here again soon πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

    Liked by 1 person

      1. A dolphin arrived in the harbour years ago and hung about. The locals call him Fungi. There are boat trips daily to go see him flipping about. It is funny really, only in Ireland!!

        Like

  7. Yay, what a brilliant post *waving from my little corner of the UK* πŸ˜‰ I live so close to Stratford-upon-Avon (Shakespeare’s birthplace) and I’m pretty sure you’d love it there. The thing I love about the UK is an abundance of castles haha! You can’t beat hugging a wall that’s hundreds of years old! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

