Travel Tuesday- The Point Reyes National Seashore 

I was inspired by An Historian’s post on the Aran Islands, and by my continual wanderlust to write about my recent trip to the Point Reyes National Seashore in California. 

Now, it’s not Ireland or anywhere near as exotic as Croatia (read The Wandering Flamingo’s post about her holiday on Šipan Island), but if you’re on the west coast of the United States, and anywhere near San Francisco, it’s a must-do! 

My good friend, Holly and I had originally wanted to drive a piece of the Oregon Coast during our summer vacation girls’ getaway. When we realized that our busy schedules and dwindling teacher bank accounts wouldn’t support such a venture, we looked into checking out the redwoods. I’ve been through the Redwood National Park a couple of times, but not Holly. But, again, we were faced with time constraints. 

Before packing it in, and putting off our trip for another time (Don’t do this, ya’ll. Time is fleeting, and you never know if you’ll get around to seeing everything you want to in one lifetime), Holly suggested we head just north of the Bay Area to the Point Reyes National Seashore. 

Being in Reno means quick access to the San Francisco Bay Area. On a good day, with minimal traffic, one can find themselves perusing the funky shops in Chinatown in 3.5 hours. 

Finding our way to the Point Reyes National Seashore took about the same amount of time, and bonus: no crazy city traffic and hobo street sprinters.

Our first stop along the national seashore was the famous shipwreck in Inverness, California. (I loved being in Inverness *again*!) Often described as “Instagrammable”, it was a fun place to stop and take pictures we, of course, posted on Insta. 

Everything looks better after filters. Amiright?

The strange shipwreck was cool to see, but what was most beautiful was the drastic drop in temperature. It was so nice to leave the 100-degree temperatures behind, even if the humidity gave me an insta-perm. 

The first major stop we made was to the Point Reyes Lighthouse. If you plan on checking out the lighthouse, make sure you visit the National Park Service website for operating hours, as the lighthouse is closed after 4 PM Monday through Friday. Also, if the wind is too strong, the steps leading to the lighthouse will be closed.


It’s important to be aware that the climb to and from the lighthouse is incredibly challenging. Not only will you be climbing the equivalence of 30 floors, the wind is intense. On more than one occasion I felt like I could easily be carried off the cliff by the wind.

Read more about my epic climb in my Trail Fails post. 


Be prepared with extra water, walking shoes, wet wipes and a full tank of gas, as amenities are lacking. Speaking of amenities, the bathrooms are not fabulous and there is no running water to wash your hands. 

All that said, the views of the shoreline, surrounding landscape, and ocean are breathtaking. 



After nearly being blown clear off the coast at the lighthouse, we continued along the seashore. As we drove winding roads that cut through tall fields of grasses being whipped around by the relentless wind, the contrast between the wheat-colored grass and the ever-changing aegean and teal blue water was striking. 


I don’t know why, but this view evoked an Eastern European or Middle Eastern feeling in me. I’ve never been to either, so…I dunno?
 

After a brisk hike along an expanse of the seashore that seemed entirely untouched, we continued on to another location that was eerily desolate. 



Maybe it was because it was late in the afternoon, or it was due to the fact that there was no one else around, but the Marconi radio facilities building felt so incredibly creepy to me. I think, maybe, it was also the long, tree-canopied lane that leads to the decades-old building. I envisioned myself alone in that building, at night, watching as my untimely demise came slowly, but assuredly down the road. 

*shudders*


On the second day of our girl getaway we hung out in some huge trees:


Ate a picnic lunch on Stinson Beach:

 


And, got a killer view of San Francisco from reeeeeally far away:


I’ve seen the otherworldly Scottish Highlands, the impossible green that is Ireland, and the patchwork perfection that is the English countryside, but the Point Reyes National Seashore is another kind of beautiful. 
Really, there is no comparing one beautiful place with another. There are so many kinds of beautiful, that no matter how hard you try, you’ll never see them all in one lifetime. 

Point Reyes is a rugged kind of beautiful, and despite the tourists, remains, somehow, wild and untouched. 

Have you ever been somewhere that reminded you of someplace else, even if you’ve never been to that someplace else? Ever been to a beautiful place that feels undiscovered and wild? Let me know in the comments! 

Author: fattymccupcakes

Just a thirty-something girl trying to love herself the way she is: fat, rolls, cellulite, and fabulousness.

28 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday- The Point Reyes National Seashore ”

  1. It might not be exotic to you, but it is to me! I’ve always dreamed of visiting the West Coast… I would certainly be a happy hiker at Point Reyes National Seashore! Like you say, are many kinds of beautiful. And your photos are awesome, totally makes the place justice!

    To answer your question, every time I visit the Lake District here, I feel home… The huge lakes and mountains reminds me of the place I used to live in Canada.

    Thank you so much for sharing a link to my blog, it’s much apreciated! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s true, we do have expanses of green here in Ireland, but oh my goodness that last picture is breathtaking, because for us, it’s lovely to see the beauty from somewhere else and it’s true what you say, there are so many kinds of beautiful 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your pics.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Lol when I picked it up the guy used some bobby pins. But then I would just braid my hair and tuck it up which held it in place. But this winter I chopped off all my hair like a pixie so nothing left to pin or hold it in place haha

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Incredible pictures!I lived in San Francisco and now feel like a humungous ass for not going to point reyes!!!! Damn! Anyway, I have this massive fear of shipwrecks….and cockroaches….and clowns…and responsibility….but shipwrecks is relevant here so we won’t go into the other ones. That first picture came up and I was like “no no no no no no” lol
    https://damngirlgetyourshittogether.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOVE the scenery pics!

    I think that lighthouse had a spot in a film, too. It reminds me of the lighthouse in the original ‘The Fog’ from (I believe) the 70’s.

    One of these days, I will get to see an ocean. I just have to get over my dislike of travel, first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure it’s been in some films. It’s pretty iconic. You really do need to get over that, friend! If only to see an ocean. Being at the ocean centers and calms me. It’s magical, yo 👍😜

      Like

  5. I LOVE travel blogs too!

    This totally counts as exotic to me too. I mean LOOK AT THOSE PHOTOS!! It looks like a gorgeous day in an incredibly pretty place.

    I do often compare places with other spots I have visited…but I totally agree that it doesn’t always make sense to compare two totally different kinds of beauty. You can’t really say that one is more scenic than the other…you can just say they are both gorgeous.

    I also really like your humid-perm. Maybe you should move to a more humid place to have pretty hair like that all the time!?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

